South Africa – the land of contrasts

30 Sep

So finally the day has come – the day I go back to South Africa. A country I fell in love with on my first visit there 2 years ago.

I got to see the country from an insiders perspective since I went with my karate teacher and native South African, Simon Chilembo. I could write a whole book on my experiences there – but suffice to say it affected me deeply and I fell in love with the country and its people.
The history of this country and its people is both fascinating and heartbreaking at the same time – and its still very much visible in the country and its people today. Apartheid seems like an ancient notion, but it still rears its ugly head even now in 2010.

The repercussions of apartheid are many, and reach farther than my knowledge of it does. However, from my last visit I noticed a very visible difference in the standard of living between the different groups of whites, blacks & coloreds. But there is so much more to it of course. Crime rates in the different areas, availability of electricity, possibilities of getting an education etc.

Of course, there is so much more to South Africa than a cruel history and its challenges with poverty, crime and other effects of apartheid. It is also a country filled with beautiful wine country; beaches and mountains; warm and happy people; magnificent wildlife; delicious food and wine and so much more. The good sides of the country far outweigh its negative points in my opinion.

I will write about my experiences when I return – but for now I’ll just leave you with a quote by THE man himself – Nelson Mandela.

If there are dreams about a beautiful South Africa, there are also roads that lead to their goal. Two of these roads could be named Goodness and Forgiveness.

Én kommentar to “South Africa – the land of contrasts”

  1. MrThorswold 30. september 2010 kl. 07:28 #

    I am looking forward to reading about your journey! 🙂

Legg igjen en kommentar

